fr en es

Classification of dogs

Dogs can be classified into several categories depending on their size.

• Toy: Weight generally less than 5 kg and a height at the withers of less than 28 cm.
Examples: Chihuahua, Yorkshire Terrier, Bichon Frize, Toy Poodle.

• Small (Dwarf): Weight generally between 5 and 10 kg and a height at the withers of 28 to 38 cm.
Examples: Pug, Shih Tzu.

• Small: Weight generally between 10 and 15 kg and a height at the withers of 38 to 48 cm.
Examples: Cocker Spaniel, Beagle, French Bulldog.

• Medium: Weight generally between 15 and 25 kg and a height at the withers of 48 to 58 cm.
Examples: Labrador Retriever, Boxer, Australian Shepherd.

• Large: Weight generally between 25 and 45 kg and a height at the withers of 58 to 70 cm.
Examples: Golden Retriever, German Shepherd, Rottweiler.

• Very Large/Giant: Weight generally over 45 kg and a height at the withers over 70 cm.
Examples: Saint Bernard, Great Dane, Mastiff.

It is important to note that these classifications are general and that a dog's size can vary depending on its breed, age, weight, musculature and other individual factors. It is also essential to take into account that the size of a dog should not be the only selection criterion when adopting or buying a dog, and that other factors such as temperament, exercise needs and necessary care should also be taken into consideration to ensure that the dog is suitable for the lifestyle of its owner.

There are articles on this page

Very small-sized dogs
Bouledogue français
Small-sized dogs
Medium-sized dogs
Labrador Retriever
Large-sized dogs
Very large dogs

© 2023 − All doggies. All rights reserved.
"The data available on this site may be used provided that the source is duly acknowledged."
Legal Notice